Dear Mister

All your looks are condescension,

Counting the many reasons

Why a wound like me should leave,

Leaving me left and bleeding.

 

You see my mother in me,

Her faults wrapped inside

My rebellious eyes.

When I turn to go,

I’ll use the courage

I saw in her years ago.

 

I’ll place on the altar

This chokehold title daughter

To pick up my suitcase,

And find something in replace.

 

Dear mister, here’s your letter

Of resignation, separation,

A goodbye for forever.

I’ll leave it by the hole

You smashed in on the wall

That night you lost control.

 

I am not afraid of you,

Just what parts of me is from you.

Will your anger lift my hand,

Your thirst fill my cup with sand?

 

Leave a Reply

