What I Should Have Said

Time has been a thief,

And this distance has cut deep.

I don’t want space to grieve,

It is you I need.

 

Tied around my neck

Are words I should have said,

Like, “I’m sorry for the pain,

But I need you to stay.

You are worth more than gold,

Memories aren’t enough to hold.

How could you not know

That you own my soul.”

 

It’s like a part of me

Has gone up to leave,

And the cord between

Has been snapped clean.

 

Tied around my neck

Are words I should have said,

Like, “I’m sorry for the pain,

But I need you to stay.

You are worth more than gold,

Memories aren’t enough to hold.

How could you not know

That you own my soul.”

 

They say it gets better,

That healing, it takes time,

But all I have now is

An anger I can’t define.

Is there consolation

For those who know death?

Or do I just have to wait

For this feeling to rest?

 

Is there consolation

For those who know death?

Or do I just have to wait

For this feeling to rest?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

